List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners GK Questions

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners 1980 – 2023

Bhupen Hazarika (2019) – (Posthumous) He was a playback singer, lyricist, musician, poet and film maker from Assam.

Nanaji Deshmukh (2019) – (Posthumous) Nanaji Deshmukh, a social activist was known for his immense contributions in the field of education, health and rural self reliance

Pranab Mukherjee (2019) – He became India’s youngest finance minister in 1982 at the age of 47. From 2004, he went on to head three crucial ministries – external affairs, defence and finace. He was the 13th President of India from 2012 to 2017.

Madan Mohan Malaviya (2015) – (Posthumous) Scholar and educational reformer and founder of Banaras Hindu University.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (2015) – Ex-prime Minister and one of the best parliamentarian for over four decades.

Sachin Tendulkar (2014)- Cricketer

C. N. R. Rao (2014) – Scientist

Bhimsen Joshi (2009) – Hindustani classical singer

Bismillah Khan (2001) – Hindustani classical shehnai player

Lata Mangeshkar (2001) – Playback singer

Gopinath Bordoloi (1999) – Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Assam

Amartya Sen (1999) – Economist from Kolkata and a Noble laureate

Ravi Shankar(1999) – Sitar player from Calcutta

Jayaprakash Narayan(1998) – Posthumous, independence activist and politician

Chidambaram Subramaniam(1998) -Independence activist, Minister of Agriculture

M. S. Subbulakshmi(1998) – Carnatic classical singer

Aruna Asaf Ali (1997) – Posthumous, independence activist

Gulzarilal Nanda (1997) – Independence activist, interim Prime Minister

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam(1997) – Aeronautical Engineer, 11th President of India

Satyajit Ray (1992) – Bengali Filmmaker

J. R. D. Tata (1992) – Industrialist and philanthropist

Abul Kalam Azad(1992) – Posthumous, independence activist, first Minister of Education

Morarji Desai (1991) Independence activist, fourth Prime Minister

Vallabhbhai Patel (1991) – Posthumous, independence activist, first Home Minister,Was responsible for unification of all Indian princely states.

Rajiv Gandhi (1991) – Posthumous, Sixth Prime Minister.

Nelson Mandela(1990) – Second non-citizen and non-Indian recipient, Leader of the Anti-Apartheid movement and Noble laureate

B. R. Ambedkar (1990) – Posthumous, Chief architect of the Indian Constitution,Crusader against Untouchability, Dalit Icon, Social Reformer, Historian, politician, economist, and scholar

M. G. Ramachandran (1988) – Posthumous, film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1987) – First non-citizen, independence activist

Vinoba Bhave (1983) – Posthumous, social reformer, independence activist

Mother Teresa of Calcutta (1980) – Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity in Kolkata and Noble laureate