List of Navratna Companies in India GK questions

नवरत्न कम्पनियाँ क्या होती है |

Navratna Companies

The Government had introduced the Navratna Scheme in 1997 in order to identify CPSEs that enjoy comparative advantages in their respective sectors, and to support them in their drive to become global giants. The Navratna CPSEs have been given enhanced autonomy and delegation of powers to incur capital expenditure to enter into technology joint ventures/strategic alliances, to effect organizational restructuring, to create and wind-up posts up to Board level and to raise capital from domestic and international markets. Restructuring of Board by inducting at least 4 non-official Directors is a pre-condition for exercise of the enhanced powers. 

List of Navratna Companies in India

Presently there are 15 Navratna CPSEs viz. (i) Bharat Electronics Limited, (ii) Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, (iii) Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, (iv) Coal India Limited, (v) GAIL (India) Limited, (vi) Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, (vii) Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited, (viii) Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited, (ix) National Aluminium Company Limited (x) NMDC Limited (xi) Oil India Limited, (xii) Power Finance Corporation Limited, (xiii) Power Grid Corporation of India Limited, (xiv) Rural Electrification Corporation of India Limited and (xv) Shipping Corporation of India Limited.