Maharatna companies of India Names and complete details for GK

भारत  की  महारत्न कंपनियां- विस्तृत जानकारी

Maharatna Companies

The Government introduced the Maharatna scheme in December, 2009 with the objective to delegate enhanced powers to the Boards of identified large sizes Navratna CPSEs to facilitate further expansion of their operations, both in domestic as well as global markets. The Maharatna CPSEs in addition to having Navratna powers, have been delegated additional powers in the area of joint ventures/ subsidiaries and human resources development. The Maharatna CPSEs (accordingly can invest Rs. 5000 crores in one project (Rs. 1,000 crores for Navartna CPSEs) and create below Board level posts upto E-9 level (E-6 for Navratna CPSEs). 

Name of Maharatna Companies in India

The Government has currently conferred Maharatna status to 4 CPSEs namely, (i) Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOC), (ii) NTPC Limited, (iii) Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC) and (iv) Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL).