List of Bharatiya Gyanpith Awards (Jnanpith Award) Winners

List of Bharatiya Gyanpith Awards from past twenty years. This will help you if Any GK question appears for Jnanpith Award Winners

Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri (Year: 2019, Language: Malayalam): For his literary excellence has footprints in genre like drama, reminiscence, critical essays, children literature, short stories and translations. Some of his celebrated creations include Veeravadam, Balidarsanam, Nimisha Kshethram, Amrita Khatika, Akkitham Kavithaka, Epic of Twentieth Century and Antimahakalam.

Amitav Ghosh (Year: 2018, Language: English): For his “outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Indian Literature in English”. Mr. Ghosh is the first English language writer to become a Jnanpith laureate.

Krishna Sobti (Year: 2017, Language: Hindi): For experimenting with new writing styles and creating “bold” and “daring” characters in her stories who were ready to accept all challenges. Her language is highly influenced by the intermingling of Hindi, Urdu and Punjabi cultures.

Shankha Ghosh (Year: 2016, Language: Bengali): The award is given for exceptional contribution in the field of literature. He has earlier won the Sahitya Academy Award and the Padmabhushan for his contribution to Indian literature. He is the sixth Bengali to get this prestigious award.

Raghuveer Chaudhari (Year: 2015, Language: Gujarati): Raghuveer Chaudhari is a novelist, poet and critic from Gujarat. He has also worked as a columnist for numerous newspapers, such as Sandesh, Janmabhumi, Nirikshaka and Divya Bhaskar.

Bhalchandra Vanaji Nemade (Year: 2014, Language: Marathi): Bhalchandra Vanaji Nemade is a Marathi writer from Maharashtra. He is famous for his books Hindu and Kosala. Also he is known for his novel Hindu jagnyachi samrudhha adgal.

Kedarnath Singh (Year: 2013, Language: Hindi) – For his notable contribution to Hindi literature. ‘Abhi bilkul abhi‘ and ‘Yahan se dekho‘ are among his prominent works ‘Abhi bilkul abhi‘ and ‘Yahan se dekho‘ are among his prominent works.

Ravuri Bharadhwaja (Year: 2012, Language: Telugu) – For his notable contribution to Telugu literature.

Pratibha Ray (Year: 2011, Language: Oriya) – For her book Yajnaseni.

Chandrashekhara Kambara (Year: 2010, Language: Kanada) – For his contributions to Kannada literature.

Amar Kant (Year: 2009, Language: Hindi) – For his contribution in Hindi literature.

Sri Lal Sukla (Year: 2009, Language: Hindi) – For his contribution in Hindi literature.

Akhlaq Mohammed Khan ‘Shahryar’ (Year: 2008, Language: Urdu) – For his contribution in Urdu literature.

O. N. V. Kurup (Year: 2007, Language: Malayalam) – For his contributions to Malayalam literature.

Ravindra Kelekar (Year: 2006, Language: Konkani) – For his contribution in Konkani literature.

Satya Vrat Shastri (Year: 2006, Language: Sanskrit) – For his contribution in Sanskrit literature.

Kunwar Narayan (Year: 2005, Language: Hindi) – For overall contribution in Hindi literature.

Rehman Rahi (Year: 2004, Language: Kashmiri) – For his contribution in Kashmiri literature. Few of his famous books are Subhuk Soda, Kalami Rahi and Siyah Rode Jaren Manz.

Vinda Karandikar (Year: 2003, Language: Marathi) – For his contributions to Marathi literature.

D. Jayakanthan (Year: 2002, Language: Tamil) – For his contribution in Tamil literature.

Rajendra Shah (Year: 2001, Language: Gujarati) – For his contribution in Gujarati literature.

Indira Goswami (Year: 2000, Language: Assamese) – For writing about the subalterns and marginalised &contribution in Assamese literature.